Cystic Acne Made Me Hate Myself

I cried every single time I looked in the mirror.

Grace Bianco
6 min readNov 22, 2022

--

By Grace K. Bianco

TRIGGER WARNING: Talk of dark/suicidal thoughts

My lovely pics (-; Sorry for the up-close look, but I needed to show you all just how bad my acne was.

I went from having a blemish here and there to full blown cystic acne in 2020.

Acne was never a huge struggle of mine. In middle school and high school, I would breakout on my chin sometimes. Other than that, I was never bothered by my face.

In fact, I wasn’t bothered by hardly anything at all.

I have always been a confident person. I was never one to pick apart my body. I have always been thankful for it. I eat whatever I want, and it’s still hard for me to gain weight. I am maybe 2 lbs heavier than I was in high school. I wear heels even though I am constantly told how incredibly tall I am. (I am almost 5'9, but I have very long legs. The illusion makes me look even taller haha.)

I never thought I was a Victoria Secret model or better than anyone else. I just simply didn’t struggle with any of my physical traits. The older I get the more I realize how blessed I was to grow up with that mindset.

That all changed in August of 2020. I started noticing huge pimples beneath the skin. Here’s the best part… I had just gotten engaged. We chose our wedding date to be on…

--

--

Grace Bianco

I am the author of “Party Pooper: Growing up with Anxiety.” I love oversharing my life. I talk about my faith, marriage, mental health, & everything in between.