I Didn’t Eat ANY Red Meat For Four Years

Here’s What I Think of Restrictive Diets

Grace Bianco
6 min readMar 2, 2022

--

By Grace K. Bianco

As long as you fuel your body in a healthy way with a lot of moderation, the actual diet doesn’t really matter.

Photo from Canva

Food is fuel. I think many of us can agree on that. Yet, what does this “fuel” look like to you? Do you eat any and everything? Do you follow a certain diet? Is some food production unethical to you?

We all have our views when it comes to food. I am not a dietitian by any means. I took one nutrition college class back in high school, and I am obsessed with watching vegan YouTubers. I also love watching people’s “What I eat in a day/week” videos. That’s about the extent of my “research”.

I will do my absolute best to keep this as noncontroversial as possible. You do you, and I will just tell you about me.

My Health

I have been lactose intolerant since I was thirteen. That’s right. I grew up eating cheese, ice cream, and all things good. Then, I started feeling really sick my eighth grade year.

After a ton of testing, I found out I have a good for nothing gall bladder, GERD, and lactose intolerance. In other words, I can’t break down fatty foods that well. I have pretty regular acid reflux. AND I…

--

--

Grace Bianco

I am the author of “Party Pooper: Growing up with Anxiety.” I love oversharing my life. I talk about my faith, marriage, mental health, & everything in between.