I’m 22 & Scared To Be Home Alone

It’s becoming embarrassing.

Grace Bianco
4 min readMay 25, 2022

--

By Grace K. Bianco

You may shoot backwards when you were expecting to shoot forwards, but no matter how crazy it gets, you know you will always keep going.

Photo from Canva

The thing with anxiety is that new fears could easily develop, and they will take over your life. It’s hard for people to understand, because the only line you will hear as “comfort” is, “You used to be okay with this.” Well, things change, and that comment only makes one feel weaker.

Today, I will talk about my recent paranoia that has been taking over my life.

My “New” Fear

I put quotes on new, because it isn’t 100% out of the blue. I have had problems in the past with this fear, but recently, it has been much more consistent.

I am scared to sleep alone at night.

Photo from Canva

I feel like a child when I say that. I only ever hear about kids struggling with these kinds of fears. I know there are plenty of adults who do, but it is a topic that no one talks about.

--

--

Grace Bianco

I am the author of “Party Pooper: Growing up with Anxiety.” I love oversharing my life. I talk about my faith, marriage, mental health, & everything in between.