My Husband Literally Slid Into My DMs.

A Modern Gen Z/Millennial’s Online Dating Experience

Grace Bianco
3 min readDec 3, 2023

--

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Blogmas Day 3

Four years ago today, on December 3, 2019, my husband slid into my Instagram DMs.

And the rest is history.

But how did this all come about?

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

At just 19 years old, I was still trying to figure life out.

At eighteen, I had broken up with the guy that I had dated for four years.

My best friend from the past eighteen years started pulling away unexpectedly.

The sister that I had closely grown up with started going down a different life path.

On top of that, college started not feeling right for me, and I ended up dropping out.

After two months of unemployment, I finally found an amazing job as a full-time nanny.

I started writing during all of this on blogspot, and I soon began working on my first book.

I was on and off of dating apps. They sucked, and I had gone on multiple TERRIBLE first dates.

--

--

Grace Bianco

I am the author of “Party Pooper: Growing up with Anxiety.” I love oversharing my life. I talk about my faith, marriage, mental health, & everything in between.