Nothing Has Humbled Me More Than My Marriage

Something had to change, and that thing had to be me.

Grace Bianco
6 min readMar 4, 2024

--

Photo by Yuri Efremov on Unsplash

From all the books that I have read and all the people that I have talked to, the first year of marriage seems to be a hit or miss.

It seems to be peak honeymoon phase for some. While others, it can be one of the hardest years that their relationship has had to face.

After three years of marriage, I would still easily say our first year has been the hardest so far.

My husband and I didn’t live together until after we got married. We had been together for barely over a year when we got married. Everything was so new. On top of that, we had to travel for his work. I had never lived anywhere but with my parents. Suddenly, I was living all over.

We were still learning about communication. Put a new couple in a stressful new environment, and it isn’t always harmonious.

I was breaking underneath all the emotional turmoil, and one day, I yelled out to God to fix it.

A throwback picture of us from 2021 that always makes me laugh.

Let it be known… This is more…

--

--

Grace Bianco

I am the author of “Party Pooper: Growing up with Anxiety.” I love oversharing my life. I talk about my faith, marriage, mental health, & everything in between.