That’s Just How So-And-So Is

PLEASE stop excusing bad behaviors.

Grace Bianco
4 min readJul 20, 2022

--

By Grace K. Bianco

Life is constantly changing. It’s good to change with it.

Photo by hay s on Unsplash

“People don’t change.”

WRONG. WRONG. WRONG.

The saying should go, “Don’t expect people to change.”

What’s the difference?

Saying people don’t change gives them no motivation to do so. Whereas, saying not to expect change helps YOU. You can’t force someone to change who they are to fit what you want, but don’t be a crutch or put up with it.

Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

A few months ago, I read one of Klara Jane Holloway’s posts titled, “My Mother Should Have Protected Me From My Uncle’s Sexual Advances: This is kids don’t ‘tell’ on their abusers.” By the title, you already know that you will feel a rage like no other while reading it.

There was one line that absolutely made me want to scream. When she tried speaking up, Klara was told, “That’s just how Uncle Chester is.”

I was already so heartbroken by the story, but I was enraged for the rest of the story.

--

--

Grace Bianco

I am the author of “Party Pooper: Growing up with Anxiety.” I love oversharing my life. I talk about my faith, marriage, mental health, & everything in between.