What the world thinks about getting married young…

Spoiler : It’s a bunch of bologna.

Grace Bianco
4 min readAug 13, 2021

By Grace K. Bianco

“You are so young to be getting married.”

Our Wedding and Story

On January 9, 2021, I became a wife at just twenty years old. My husband became a married man at twenty-six years old.

It was a beautiful day. It was a traditional church wedding, but as you can see, we took photos outside. The sun was shining bright that day, and the temperature was perfect. Our wedding went smoothly, and no mistakes happened.

My husband and I met on a Christian dating app. After just one week of talking, we went on our first date. Three weeks later, he asked me to be his girlfriend. Then, we dated for eight months before he proposed. We were engaged for almost five months before we got married. Now, here I am eight months later… still happily married.

The World’s View

We received mostly positive comments about our engagement. Both sides of parents were very supportive and helped us in any way they could. No one was ever personally mean to us. There were still some comments I got about being young, and of course, my husband got the stereotypical “whipped” comments.

In this day and age, marriage is looked down upon more and more. Although we were fortunate to not be confronted by these kinds of views too much, we live in a culture where it’s all around us.

People used to believe in courtship that would lead to marriage. People claim they “date to marry”, but will date a bunch of guys and state every time, “He/She is the one”. We have access to so many “options” in this generation due to the internet. The internet has also caused unrealistic expectations in relationships.

Divorce rates are through the roof, and it has become an ordinary thing of life. No one hopes to get a divorce when they get married, but it’s become so normalized that it’s hard to not see it as an escape.

My Honest Thoughts on Being a Housewife

I am also a housewife. I do the cooking and cleaning. Again, in 2021, this is no longer what people see as the “norm”. Women are encouraged to be independent and work high paying jobs like men.

I, personally, have no problem with women working, but it shouldn’t be discouraged to not work. If a woman wants to care for her home and husband, it should be just as encouraged as working a full-time job.

I am not giving up my life to be someone’s wife. I am living the life I believe God planned for me. I’m not slaving away for a man. I am taking care of the household duties while he makes the money. I could be anything I want to be, but who’s to say being a housewife isn’t that?

God’s Plan

I trust that God has always had the best plan in mind for me. I have clung to God my entire life, and now, I feel myself clinging to Him even harder. I don’t want to take my amazing husband and life for granted. When I look back on my life, I want to confidently say, “I enjoyed every season God gave me.”

My husband and I have our struggles and arguments like any normal couple, but we share a lot of love. When we fall short, our strengths make it easy to push through. I’d rather navigate through my twenties with my husband than be alone. That’s just how I feel personally.

The world may tell me I am giving up my young life to be a submissive wife. The world may tell me I could be anything. The world may tell me there’s so much more to life than being a wife.

Being a wife is what God wants me to be (no doubt). I am happy with this life. I am still a passionate writer, and even more so, now that I am married with more free time. However, being a wife comes first and always will. Writing is great, but no matter what it brings me, it will never be placed above my husband.

My life won’t stop just because I got married. In fact, it has only just begun. I have never felt this alive.

_______________________________

Thanks for reading!! Make sure to click that follow button for more!!

Also, check out my more personal blog newkindofliving.com ❤

My book, Party Pooper: Growing up with Anxiety, is available now on Amazon (eBook and Paperback).

--

--

Grace Bianco

I am the author of “Party Pooper: Growing up with Anxiety.” I love oversharing my life. I talk about my faith, marriage, mental health, & everything in between.