Your Sibling Doesn’t Count As A Friend.

They are your family.

Grace Bianco
6 min readMay 17, 2022

--

By Grace K. Bianco

So whether your siblings are your friends or not, make sure the friends in your life are ones who push you to be the best you.

My Siblings (+ my brother-in-law [top row] and my parents) ❤

As you can see above, I come from a big family. I have a biological sister and brother. Then, I have three adopted sisters (one not pictured) and one adopted brother (all from Ukraine).

I am fairly close with all of my siblings pictured above, but I am very close with two of my sisters.

Ever since I can remember, I always understood how important family was. Adoption presented us with some really hard times, and I believe in some ways it made our family closer. We all endured it together, and we know what all we went through better than any outsider could ever try to understand.

So today, I want to talk about family. What makes a person family to you? Then, I will also focus on the main topic here… Can family members be considered friends?

***

What Makes A Person Family To You?

I have been wanting to write about my relationship with my family for a very long time. (I have a few blogs sprinkled in here and there about them and our adoption story.) After I read The Sober

--

--

Grace Bianco

I am the author of “Party Pooper: Growing up with Anxiety.” I love oversharing my life. I talk about my faith, marriage, mental health, & everything in between.